• Students
  • Staff
  • Parents
  • Quicklinks
Home /
Schools / Robert J. O'Brien STEM Academy / Yearly Recognitions
page tools:
email page print page default type small type large type

Yearly recognitions

Thank you for all the time and effort you contribute to the O'Brien/STEM Academy!!!

Volunteer of the Year

O’Brien is fortunate to have many parent and community volunteers who support our students, families, and staff members. Some of the ways that volunteers get involved include participating as Parent Teacher Organization officers and School Governance Council members, mentoring students weekly, chaperoning field trips, assisting with family events, helping out on Field Day each spring, and coming in to assist with various tasks in O’Brien’s family center.

Each year we recognize as our Volunteer of the Year one or two individuals who have made a difference for students during the previous year. Our Volunteers of the Year are honored at a Board of Education meeting in the spring.

  • 2017 Veronica Rosario and Raiza Diaz
  • 2016 Elizabeth Rosa and Jasmin Baez
  • 2015 Marc D-'Aloisio
  • 2014 Jasmine Rivera-McNeill
  • 2013 Dave Condit

Teacher of the Year

Each year, O’Brien staff honor as our Teacher of the Year a teacher who fosters excellence in teaching, demonstrates leadership qualities, and is dedicated to lifelong learning. Our Teacher of the Year is selected each spring for the coming school year.

  • 2018 Pamela Schachter (Interventionist)
  • 2017 Despina Palmeri (Grade 1 Teacher)
  • 2016 James Galluzzo (Special Education Teacher)
  • 2015 Rosemarie (Suzanne) Lonabaugh (Grade 5 Teacher)
  • 2014 Andrea Winiarski (Instructional Coach)
  • 2013 Bethany McCaffrey (Grade 3 Teacher)

Paraprofessional of the Year/Staff Member of the Year:

Each spring, O’Brien staff select a non-certified staff member to honor as our Paraprofessional of the Year (2011-2017)/Staff Member of the Year (beginning 2017). These staff members have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of his/her job, thereby earning the respect and admiration of students, teachers, administrators, co-workers and parents. 

  • 2017 Jeannie Quattropani and Margarita Williams
  • 2016 Joana Moore
  • 2015 Jane Piccoli
  • 2014 Carol Maffe
  • 2013 Karen Vendette
  • Hartford Courant Top Work Places 2011 Award Ribbon
  • Hartford Courant Top Work Places 2012 Award Ribbon
  • Hartford Courant Top Work Places 2013 Award Ribbon
  • Hartford Courant Top Work Places 2016 Award Ribbon
powered by finalsite